122 buy now


While playing in Youth Of Today, Mike and Porcell started Judge as a project band. Their first single was released on Porcell's label Schism in 1988. By the time the next year was over they had made Judge a serious touring band, recorded their debut full-length and become legends within the hardcore scene. The first recording of their full length was scrapped because of the poor quality of the recording. This was released in a very limited pressing under the title Chung King Can Suck It and has been a prize of hardcore record collecting ever since. They re-recorded their album at the now legendary studio Normandy Sound and released it under its original title Bringin It Down. After a couple of years of touring they put out one final ep with three songs on it. What It Meant collects all of these recordings in their entirety along with one track from their demo (recorded with Luke from Gorilla Biscuits on Drums). Heavy, well put together music with lyrics that show thought and self examination, Judge evolved from their first single to the last song they released, leaving a legacy that helped shape hardcore. The vinyl format will include the entire demo as exclusive bonus tracks.

Mike Judge - Vocals, Drums
Porcell - Guitar, Bass
Sammy Siegler - Drums
Matt Pincus - Bass
Jimmy Yu - Bass
Luke Abbey - Drums

Click here to purchase this release on iTunes:Burn


1. Fed Up!
2. In My Way
3. I've Lost...
4. New York Crew
5. Warriors
6. Take Me Away
7. Bringin' It Down
8. Hold Me Back
9. Give It Up
10. The Storm
11. Hear Me
12. Like You
13. I've Lost
14. Where It Went
15. Forget This Time
16. The Storm II
17. When The Levee Breaks
18. Take Me Away
19. Bringin' It Down
20. Hold Me Back
21. Give It Up
22. The Storm
23. Hear Me
24. Like You
25. I've Lost..
26. Holding On
27. No Apologies
28. Just Like You